National Cobotics Steering Committee Meeting, June 2017

The fifth National Cobotics Steering Committee meeting was held in the Kuka offices in Dundalk on Friday the 23rd of June.  The Steering committee which brings together the leading technical, industrial and academic partners on the island on collaborative robotics, worked on a number of important issues related to the take up of this technology in Irish manufacturing sites.  The committee now represents the NSAI national mirror group on ISO/TC 299/WG3, Safety in relation to Cobotics, with Dr. Nikos Papakostas (UCD) and Brian Cooney (Kuka) representing Irish interests at the international forum in Milan, the previous week.  Barry Kennedy (CEO, Irish Manufacturing Research) presented an outline for a national pilot facility, which will be located in Mullingar and will allow companies to engage with real world problems and solutions in the cobotics field.  Chantelle Kiernan (IDA) also highlighted the international program being developed by the IDA , later this year in Boston.  Companies engaged in this National Steering Committee meeting included Kuka (hosts for the day), ABB, SAP, Viska, UCD, DCU, RD Services, ITS Automation, Pilz, NSAI, Schivo Group, ICBE, Socrates Workforce, IDA and AMI.  The session was chaired by Andrew Lynch (Chief Innovation Officer, Irish Manufacturing Research).  For further information on the IDA initiative in Boston later this year in Collaborative Robotics, please contact Dr Chantelle Kiernan (  For any other information relating to the activities of the National Cobotics Steering Committee, please contact Andrew Lynch on

Clockwise from top left are: Andrei Grigoriev SAP, Mary White NSAI, Tom Maher Socrates Workforce, Nikos Papakostas UCD, Dan Buckley ITS, Dermot O’Neill ICBE, Colin Dullaghan ABB, Chantelle Kiernan IDA, Stephen Nolan RD Services, Jonathon Downey Schivo Group, Brian Cooney KUKA, Andrew Lynch AMI (Chairman), Wesley O’Shea Pilz, Fergal Finn NSAI, Paul Young DCU, Ken Horan IMR (Off Camera), Barry Kennedy IMR (Off Camera).